Angkor Tuk Tuk Travel

Wat Phnom & Royal Palace in Phnom Penh City

Phnom Penh was founded by a rich old lady named Penh, who built up a sanctuary on the hill called “Wat Phnom Daun Penh” (Old lady Penh Pagoda). In 1434 King Ponhea Yat moved the capital from Bassac city  (in the ancient Kampong Cham Province) to Phnom Daun Penh. The sanctuary was removed and it was replaced by the king. Then he built up the hill and constructed a brick stupa on top.

After the inauguration the king named the hill “Preah Chet Dei Paravata” but nowadays it is simply called Wat Phnom Actually the first establishment did not last long. The capital moved from one place to another, until 1866. in the reign of King Norodom, the capital moved to Phnom Daun Penh again and remains up to the present time. Phnom Penh is the sixth capital after Nokor Phnom, Angkor Wat, Longvek, Srei Santhor and udong.

Phnom Penh a capital of Cambodia covering an area of 290 square kilometer. Offers visitors plenty of opportunity for a city tour, shopping and dinner, it is home to the Royal Palace, National Museum and Wat Phnom and it is the commercial political, cultural and tourism hub. Phnom Penh received the world leadership award number one for Urban Renewal Planning for a Population Boom.

Particularly valuable products that can be found here include seafood, freshwater food, fresh fruit, traditional handicraft artistic articles.

Royal Palace

Built in 1866 by King Norodom, and the Royal Palace still functions as the official residence of his Majesty Preah Bat Sandech Preah Baroumaneath Norodom Sihamoni, king of Cambodia his Majesty Preah Bat Samdech Preah Norodom Sihanouk, King father and her Majesty Preah Reach Akka Mohesey Norodom Monineath Sihanouk, the Queen mother the site contains various buildings of interest, including the Khmer style Throme Hall, now used for special ceremonial occasions. South built in Egypt in 1866, for the opening of the Suez Canal, and was after presented to the Cambodian King as a gift.

The famous Silver Pagada. Originally constructed of wood in 1866 was expanded in 1962 by king Sihanouk who had the floor inlaid with 5,329 solid silver tiles, hence its name. The most revered image is the Emerald Buddha made of Baccarat crystal and dating back to the 17th  century behind it cast in 1906, utilizing 90kg of gold, and decorated with 9,584 diamonds, Cabinets along the perimeter contain gifts presented to royalty and dignitaries. Along the inside of the recently restored 600 meter external wall is a color full mural depicting scenes from Reamker, the Khmer version of the Ramayana.

* For any transport in Siem Reap or around Cambodia please contact Angkor Tuk Tuk Travel Service Click Here

Bookmark and Share
Flag Counter

Recently Guest Booking:

Guest Name: reitugs
Country: Morocco
City: Tangier
Travel Date: 1977-10-12
Arrival By: Car
Tour Name: Angkor Tour 4 Days